How To Reset Google Chrome

Whether you want to rid yourself of pointless add-ons, annoying settings or any other unwelcome things, a good strategy is to reset your browser to it’s default settings.

What many people don’t realise is that in order to get browsers like Google Chrome back to their original state from when they were first downloaded to your system, you don’t need to completely uninstall and re-install them.

Uninstalling Google Chrome will keep your personal files on your system and when you reinstall it all those annoying settings and features could still be there. Instead, a far better approach is to navigate to your settings and reset Google Chrome to its factory settings.

If you aren’t sure how to do that, you are in the right place. In the following paragraphs we’ll break everything down step by step so that you have a clear understanding of exactly how you can reset Google Chrome.

STEP 1: NAVIGATE TO THE SETTINGS SECTION

Step one couldn’t be any easier. All you need to do is navigate to Chrome’s menu and select settings. Once you have done this simply perform a search for “reset browser” and you will be presented with a button that prompts you to restore your browser settings.

If you are having trouble locating the menu bar, you can simply just plug chrome://settings/resetProfileSettings into Chrome’s address bar and it will take you directly to the page that we have described above.

STEP 2: CLICK THE BUTTON

Now that you have the button in front of you, all you need to do is click it and Chrome will flash up with a message to double check that you definitely want to reset your settings. As soon as you see this message just click “reset” and Chrome will work it’s magic.

Resetting Google Chrome will reset almost everything. We are talking extensions, cookies, history, homepage, default search engine and so much more. Consequently it is essential that you only reset Google Chrome if you are happy with all this data essentially being deleted.

If you reset Chrome and realise that you want a specific extension back you’ll just need to download it again, so it’s not the end of the world if a small number of things get deleted that you’d rather have kept.

When you reset your browser, Chrome won’t erase your bookmarks or passwords, so rest assured that important personal data such as this will still be stored after you click that reset button.

WHAT IF I AM STILL EXPERIENCING ISSUES?

If you decided to reset Google Chrome because your browser was behaving erratically or you were experiencing other issues, you should hopefully be back to normal. However, if the bugs you were experiencing prior to the reset haven’t disappeared then you’ll need to find an alternative solution to rid you of the problem(s).

A great place to start is by troubleshooting Google Chrome.

So there you have it, that’s how you reset Google Chrome. Before you go, let us leave you with one bit of parting advice. Before you click that reset button, make sure that you are fully aware of exactly what resetting Google Chrome does. Whilst it won’t rid you of sensitive data like passwords and online banking information, if you have a wealth of add-ons that you use it can take a while to go back and reinstall them all (provided you remember all their names).
If you only need to reset a few settings and features, it’s worth doing it manually, but if you want an almost clean slate then resetting Google Chrome completely is a good option and we would definitely recommend that you follow the steps outlined above.

– See more at: http://www.cans.scot

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s